Hamptons Art Walk Surveys Local Galleries, Helps the Hungry

Hamptons Art Walk Surveys Local Galleries, Helps the Hungry

Local art fans will have a chance to survey the Hamptons gallery scene in a big way over Thanksgiving weekend this year. On Saturday, November 28, from 1–5 p.m., more than 25 galleries from Montauk to Southampton will be open and available for ArtWalk Hamptons’ fourth annual Thanksgiving Art Walk, so plan accordingly.

The free, self-guided gallery tour is now a tradition, but 2015 is the first year the event will also benefit and raise awareness for area food pantries and help stock their shelves with food donations before the difficult winter months.

As art lovers drive from village to hamlet, and gallery to gallery in each, participating venues will encourage visitors to send checks or drop off nonperishable food items in donation boxes to support East Hampton Food Pantry (easthamptonfoodpantry.org) and their Amagansett Satellite, Sag Harbor Community Food Pantry (sagharborfoodpantry.com), and Human Resources of the Hamptons Food Pantry (hrhamptons.org).

Participating galleries include:

Montauk

The Woodbine Collection (649 Montauk Highway, woodbinecollection.com)

Amagansett

Ille Arts (216a Main Street, illearts.com), which is holding its Annual Holiday Market.

East Hampton

Eric Firestone Gallery (4 Newtown Lane, ericfirestonegallery.com)

Gallery Valentine (33 Newtown Lane, galleryvalentine.com)

Tripoli Gallery of Contemporary Art (87 Newtown Lane, tripoligallery.com), showing its 11th Annual Thanksgiving Collective.

Lawrence Fine Art (37 Newtown Lane, lawrence-fine-arts.com), showing artists Steve Joester and Larry Wolhander.

Halsey McKay Gallery (79 Newtown Lane, halseymckay.com), showing artists Dylan Bailey and Aaron Bobrow, November 21 – January 9.

Harper’s Books | Rare Book Gallery (87 Newtown Lane, harpersbooks.com), showing artist Daisuke Yokota.

Vered Gallery (68 Park Place, veredart.com), Gallery 1will feature Outrageous Figures by Caesar; Butterflies & Bunnies by Hunt Slonem; Recent Abstractions by Haim Mizrahi; and The Moving Image by Ron Agam. Gallery 2 will feature Highlights of American Modernism with works by Milton Avery, Romare Bearden, Will Cotton, Charles Demuth, Perle Fine, Willem de Kooning, Man Ray and Jules Olitsky.

Wallace Gallery (37 Main Street, 631-329-4516), specializing in 19th and 20th century American art.

Sag Harbor

Grenning Gallery (17 Washington Street, grenninggallery.com)

Monika Olko Gallery (95 Main Street, monikaolkagallery.com)

RJD Gallery (90 Main Street, rjdgallery.com)

Romany Kramoris Gallery (41 Main Street, kramorisgallery.com)

Surfari Crossroads (16B Main Street, surfaricrossroads.com)

Tulla Booth Gallery (66 Main Street, tullaboothgallery.com)

Bridgehampton

Chase Edwards Fine Art (2462 Main Street, chaseedwardsgallery.com)

Kathryn Markel Fine Arts (2418 Montauk Highway, markelfinearts.com)

Julian Beck Fine Paintings (2454 Main Street, julianbeck.com)

Mark Borghi Fine Art (2426 Main Street, borghi.org)

Silas Marder Gallery (120 Snake Hollow Road, silasmarder.com), exhibiting Mica Marder, 4–8 p.m. holiday event.

The White Room Gallery (2415 Main Street, thewhiteroom.gallery)

Water Mill

Sara Nightingale Gallery in collaboration with Karyn Mannix Contemporary (688 Montauk Highway, saranightingale.com, karynmannixcontemporary.com), exhibiting Stephanie Brody-Lederman’s Out Gallivanting, 5-7pm.

Southampton

Arthur T. Kalaher Fine Art (28E Jobs Lane, arthurtkalaherfineart.com)

Peter Marcelle Project (4 North Main Street, petermarcelleproject.com)

Tripoli Art Gallery of Contemporary Art (30 Jobs Lane, tripoligallery.com), showing its 11th Annual Thanksgiving Collective.

For more info about ArtWalk Hamptons’ 2015 Thanksgiving Art Walk, visit artwalkhamptons.com. Contact individual galleries for exhibition info.

BACK TO Artists & Galleries

 
logo
You must be logged in to vote.
logo