Watermill Center Picks Artists-In-Residence

The Watermill Center
The Watermill Center

The Watermill Center has selected its artists-in-residence for January to December 2019. Afua Ansong, Andrina Smith of Shinnecock Nation, Cleek Schrey, Colectivo Zoológico, Emily Furr, Jeffrey Perkins, Judith Hertog, Laurie Lambrecht and Toni Ross, Lynsey Peisinger, Mallory Catlett/Restless NYC, Matthew Craven, Maya Watanabe and Agustina Munoz, Mountain Time Arts, Ni’Ja Whitson, Raja Feather Kelly, and Sasha Wortzel will each spend two to six weeks at the center creating works that critically investigate, challenge, and extend the existing norms of artistic practice.

“When I first came to Watermill, I was delighted and surprised to find that it was a creative environment that encouraged artists to engage with a range of artistic mediums and projects,” said Peisinger. “Many institutions, including schools, residencies, and arts organizations, strive to make artists self-define and self-describe in a very linear and compartmentalized way. At Watermill, I have never had the impression that I had to have a strict answer to the question ‘What kind of artist are you?’”

The Watermill Center’s Artist Residency Program allows artists to utilize the center’s art collection, library, archives, and grounds as a home and workshop to develop their work. For more info, visit www.watermillcenter.org.

[email protected]

More from Our Sister Sites