Paul McCartney Reveals Track List for “New” Album

Paul McCartney in the recording studio, by Mary McCartney
Paul McCartney in the recording studio, Photo: Mary McCartney (on

Amagansett resident and music legend Paul McCartney shared the full list of songs from his upcoming album New on Friday. The record is his first comprising all new solo material in six years and it’s due for release on October 14 (15 in the U.S.).

It had already been reported that his songs “Alligator,” “Everybody Out There,” “New,” “Queenie Eye” and “Save Us” would be on the album, but the full list of songs is now out and it features the names of each song’s producer. McCartney also shared photos from the recording studio, taken by his daughter Mary McCartney, and a video of him performing an impromptu version of “New,” the first song released from the album and its title track (featured below).

The New album’s track list is as follows:

1. Save Us (produced by Paul Epworth)
2. Alligator (produced by Mark Ronson)
3. On My Way to Work (produced by Giles Martin)
4. Queenie Eye (produced by Paul Epworth)
5. Early Days (produced by Ethan Johns)
6. New (produced by Mark Ronson)
7. Appreciate (produced by Giles Martin)
8. Everybody Out There (produced by Giles Martin)
9. Hosanna (produced by Ethan Johns)
10. I Can Bet (produced by Giles Martin)
11. Looking At Her (produced by Giles Martin)
12. Road (produced by Paul Epworth)

Paul McCartney recording "New"
Paul McCartney recording “New,” Photo: Mary McCartney (on

McCartney and Giles Martin served as executive producers for New, which was mixed by Mark “Spike” Stent. The total running time is 46 minutes 11 seconds, and producers Paul Epworth, Mark Ronson (a fellow Hamptons visitor) and Ethan Johns also contributed.

“The original idea was to go to a couple of producers whose work I loved, to see who I got on with best—but it turned out I got on with all of them! We made something really different with each producer, so I couldn’t choose and ended up working with all four,” McCartney said on, adding, “We just had a good time in different ways.”

Of the record itself, McCartney said, “It’s funny, when I play people the album they’re surprised it’s me. A lot of the tracks are quite varied and not necessarily in a style you’d recognize as mine. I didn’t want it to all sound the same. I really enjoyed making this album. It’s always great to get a chance to get into the studio with a bunch of new songs and I was lucky to work with some very cool producers. We had a lot of fun.”

New was recorded at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles, Avatar Studios in New York, Abbey Road Studios, Air Studios and Wolf Tone Studios in London and Hog Hill Mill in East Sussex.McCartney also announced that the album’s title track “New” will appear in the film Cloudy With A Chance Of Meatballs 2. “I loved watching the first Cloudy with my kids, so I’m very happy to have my new song included in Cloudy 2,” McCartney said.

Lia Vollack, president of Worldwide Music for Sony Pictures, added, “We’re thrilled and honored to have Paul’s infectious and inspiring song in the film. The sequence in the film is about Flint Lockwood optimistically beginning what he thinks will be a new and exciting chapter in his life, so as soon as we heard ‘New’ we thought that everything about it was perfect.”

Finally, McCartney’s website hints that he will soon be asking for fans’ “help with something,” but no further details have been revealed.

The New album is available for pre-order now through Amazon and iTunes, and fans who do so will receive the title track immediately upon purchase.

Watch McCartney playing “New” in the video below!

More from Our Sister Sites