South O’ the Highway

Ron Delsener Inducted into Long Island Music Hall of Fame

The Long Island Music Hall of Fame inducted concert promoter Ron Delsener, of East Hampton, on October 23 during a ceremony The Paramount in Huntington.

Delsener is credited with bringing concerts to Central Park and rock and roll to the Jones Beach Marine Theater. Fellow Hamptonite Roger Waters, of Pink Floyd fame, presented Delsener with his award.

The LIMHoF also inducted Sag Harbor resident Billy Joel‘s band. Joel, himself, was inducted previously.

Joel’s band is Liberty DeVitto on drums and percussion, Doug Stegmeyer on bass guitar and backing vocals, Russell Javors on rhythm and lead guitars, harmonica and backing vocals, and Richie Cannata on keyboards, saxophones, flute, clarinet and percussion.

Joel, who was out of town, was unable to attend the event but sent a statement crediting his original band for helping put “Long Island sound” on the map.

Roger Waters at the Long Island Music Hall of Fame ceremony.
Roger Waters at the Long Island Music Hall of Fame ceremony. Photo credit: Chance Yeh for Getty Images

Also part of the class 2014 are record producer and music industry executive Clive Davis, actress and singer Patti LuPone, lyricist Gerry Goffin, record producer and remixer Steve Thompson, singer Debbie Gibson, and rapper and record producer Kurtis Blow. Additionally, previous LIMHoF inductee DMC of Run DMC was the recipient of the 2014 Harry Chapin Award.

Hamptonites Lou Reed, Steve Boone of the Lovin’ Spoonful, and Billy Joel are among the many past Long Island Music Hall of Fame inductees.

LIMHoF inductees are selected by the board of directors from artists who were born, raised, or have resided on Long Island (Brooklyn/Queens/Nassau/Suffolk) for a significant portion of their career. Induction is based on historical importance and the significance of their contribution to Long Island’s rich musical heritage.

Special guests included Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone, Susan and Peggy Stegmeyer,  Denis McNamara, Ron Alexenberg, Carlos Alomar, Brian Koppelman, Eric Bloom of Blue Oyster Cult. Jen and Sandy Chapin, up-and-coming singers Tina DeCara and Maria, Apollo Salazar, Fred Davis, EGC’s Ernie and Nicole Canadeo, State Assemblyman Joseph Saladino and DJ Joe Rock.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *