Maycroft Cup Regatta 2015

On a beautiful, yet blustery fall day, Saturday, September 26, 2015, Sag Harbor Yacht Club held its annual Maycroft Cup Regatta. With winds blowing out of the Northeast at 12 to 20 knots, 24 boats in five Divisions hit the starting line in Shelter Island Sound off Sag Harbor. After the start, the fleet rounded weather and leeward marks inside the bay and then set sail out through the north channel, past Cedar Island Lighthouse into Gardiner’s Bay, where the strong ebb tide against the northeasterly breeze made for some choppy seas. The fleet raced to windward, rounding the buoy at Crow Shoals and then headed for a long and fast run back past Cedar Point, through the south channel and finishing at the Sag Harbor breakwater. The after-race party and awards presentation was held at the Sag Harbor Yacht Club. Top finishers in each Division were: Div. I (Spinnaker) Team Tonic – Jim & Ellen Sanders II (Spinnaker) Seventh Heaven – Greg Ames & Jennifer Ernst III (Non-Spinnaker) Wave Equation – Bruce Dinsmore and Joan Worthing IV (Non-Spinnaker) Elizabeth Anne – Charles Marino V (One Design) Roxanne – Wayne & Carol Morse Overall winners : Maycroft Cup (Spinnaker) Team Tonic – Jim & Ellen Sanders Havens Cup (Non-Spinnaker) – Elizabeth Anne – Charles Marino Ron Lowe Cup (One Design) – Roxanne – Wayne & Carol Morse

More from Our Sister Sites